Is it possible to test XRCE DDS on real HW?

Hello,

i have ready to test my ArduRover for connect ROS2(HW = AGX Orin on JP6, Cube Orange, custom build Rover and SW Ubuntu 22.04, ROS Humble, last dev firmware for ArduRover).
AGX Orin is connected to Cube Orange by two serial ports (USB FTDI 232 converters), the first provides MAVROS connection for Mission Planner via WiFi and the second is set for DDS XRCE), both are at 921600 Bd speed and functional. After install Ardupilot ROS2 packages , I tried the first connection via XRCE DDS, unfortunately it was unsuccessful, with an error that I don’t understand “Serial port not found.(error 2)”
The run command looked like this “ros2 run micro_ros_agent micro_ros_agent serial --baudrate 921600 --dev ./dev/ttyUSB1”.
If I set this port “ttyUSB1” for Mavlink 2 it works without problem.
It’s my first attempt to use XRCE DDS and I’m not a big expert on ROS2, it’s my hobby, where the goal is autonomous exploration of an unknown environment.
Is it reasonable to physically test this now, considering the stage of development?

Thanks
Lada

…the result is test yes but without 100% success, DDS Client on OrangeCube would not send data serial port…
I will document the results for illustration.

…test miniterm…

…test this serial port after switch to MAVLINK2 protocol…

…info from build master…
info_build_master.txt (116.5 KB)
…second attempt , build from source Ryan55F…
info_build_RyanF55.txt (116.5 KB)

…Thanks for watching…
Lada

Did you disconnect mission planner before attempting to open the connection.

Did you set SERIALx_PROTOCOL to 45 and SERIALx_BAUD?

I’d try with a lower baud like 115k.

Yes, i set DDS_ENABLE=1 and tested protocol typ 45 on SERIAL1-5, speed 57600-921600.
When i build fw for CubeOrange, i get this warning:

749/1137] Compiling build/CubeOrange/libraries/AP_DDS/generated/geometry_msgs/msg/Point.c