Tuning a fleet of large quadrotors

Hello,

I’ve seen some great feedback from this forum, so I thought I’d make a post here. I’m looking to take my quads from flying OK to dialed-in and I really don’t have the depth of experience to know what is needed to make that happen.

For some background, I’m a researcher with the University of New Mexico where I’m using Computer Science to study volcano plumes using a swarm of large quadrotors. The quads we’ve built have 18" arms, use ardupilot on a cube black, along with some large T-motor motors, ECs, and 22" props. The whole quad is designed to fly up to an hour in order to collect gasses above an active volcano. Additionally, we’ve set up a network so that our 5 quads can talk to each other and coordinate their flight - meaning we can fly them in-formation as a single unit or fly them independently and have them trade data. Pretty exciting stuff!

My goal is to make our quads as stable as possible to prepare them for the adverse conditions we may see on the top of a mountain. This would include gusty or high wind scenarios. So, that our automated flights will have their best chance for success.

What we’ve done so far is the following:

1. Autotune - we’ve relied heavily on autotune on a single quad to set the PIDs. We adjusted the D parameter up a bit following some analysis of the logs (up from 0.001 to 0.005) for some better response out of the quad. We copied this autotune to the rest of the quads in the swarm.
  2. Vibration dampening - we’ve combated vibration using a vibration gel under the flight controller and added some weights to the top of the cube to help in this regard. This significantly reduced vibration.
  3. Setup a static not filter - this took vibration down from sometimes touching 30 to under 10 almost always and seems to make the quad behave better. The RPM we setup to filter is 48hz.