RC radio input problems

Hello,

This is my first build. I’m using a pixhawk 6 mini with ppm encoder with a trigger and wheel style controller for an rc car. Everything works fine. I decided to use a joystick type controller instead. When I plug it in, in the radio calibration screen, all the green bars move up/down with each channel. It’s like all channels are being read as 1 which controls all of them. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

What brand radio and receiver?

Hot rc DS600

I’m not familiar with that type of radio. But if I remember correctly reading about it, that 4+2 receiver is only 4 channel and the channels are indeed coupled together. There’s another suitable receiver with true 6 channels. But no idea if that solves your problem.

Edit* found this part of the manual that perhaps helps a bit:

1.Function description The mixed control mode allows channel 1 and channel 2 to control two motors at the same time for throttle forward and backward or differential steering.

1. Setting method

a. The remote control is turned off first;

b. Press and hold the [channel 3] switch first, and then turn on the power switch of the remote control, the mixing indicator (green light) on the remote control panel will be on.

c. The operation method of opening and closing the mixing control is

the same, and the mixing control closing status indicator light will

go out.

I already tried it on that mix mode and it still didn’t work properly. Also, I got the 6 channel not the 4 +2. It’s weird because it works fine with just the esc and servo but when I plug into the pixhawk it doesn’t register. The reason I was trying this controller is because you can use with one hand. Are there another one similar to this that you’d recommend?

Is there a particular reason you need one handed operation? In general as a pilot flying you shouldn’t manipulate secondary control devices like a laptop with GCS software in flight.