Yuri's new project (550 series quadcopter, 12-13" props)

I wasn’t going to share this publicly - it was more of a little family project and an opportunity for me to dive a little deeper into the ArduPilot ecosystem. But…I’m so incredibly impressed by ArduCopter’s out-of-the-box performance that I really wanted to share my experience. This first post might be a little longwinded - I hope it’s a good read.

I am a pilot by trade, but I don’t have much RC stick time. I’ve built and crashed a very small handful of cheap (and one expensive) planes, but none of them had more than a mildly functional gyro for basic “get out of jail” functionality. I’ve flown the cheap little toy helis with some degree of success. But I’ve never owned or flown a fully featured drone, and I wanted to try it out, with the end goal of having a half decent aerial video platform.

Enter this:
image0

For a first build, I dove in pretty deep, I think! It’s a semi-scratch built 550mm series quad (if I understand the scale terminology correctly) with the obligatory Cube Orange running 4.0 (maybe 4.1 soon). It’s a mix of cheap, mid-range, and a few higher dollar components, some of which I already had on hand after multiple iterations of robot lawnmower experimentation. I included Amazon links to all the components below.

The physical build was very straightforward. It only took me a few days of off and on tinkering to cobble it all together. I spent more time than I care to admit learning about BlHeli, DSHOT, and the associated parameters, but that all came together nicely, and my ESCs now play Van Halen when I plug them in.