VTOL TIlt Rotor with 2 front rotors tilting

any idea what all parameters to define while trying to fly a VTOL Tilt rotor with the front 2 motors tilting.
We have given frame class as Tailsitter and h frame type. Our Q_Tilt_Mak = 3.
Also we cannot seem to get servo output even though we have connected right tilt servo to pixhawk main channel 5 and given Servo5_Function = 76 , and left tilt servo to pixhawk main channel 6 and servo6_Function = 75.

2 Likes

Hi Jim,
Tiltrotor VTOL and TAILSITTER are two completely different VTOL aircraft. You can not “mix” them (which would be nice).

a two motor tilt rotor is not possible on master, but I do have a open PR if you fancy testing

Hey Rolf, I just meant that we tried to go from a base file of a tailsitter and modify the parameters such that it could be applicable for a tilt rotor VTOL.

Thanks for the pull, Peter. However, I am a bit of an amateur when it comes to understanding the firmware. So what do I do with these .cpp and .h files in the pull and how do I implement it? Do I just download them and replace them in the source folder, and then set Q_Frame_Class = 10 and Q_Tilt_Type = 3 in the MIssion Planner?

yeah you would clone my branch and compile the code from that, I can compile you a cube build this evening.

I have done a cube black build, note that this is rebased on master. It is thefore not a stable release (let alone my tiltrotor stuff that has only been tested in the SIM) it could do unexpected stuff.

Hey Peter!
Thanks for the advice and code regarding this tilt-rotor. I will try implementing your code in my PixHawk and will update on its progress.

Hey Peter! So we tried uploading your firmware to the Pixhawk cube and we ran into a couple of issues during testing:

1. in manual mode the compass is level and straight, however when we switch to QStabilize and QHover modes we get the orientation of a tailsitter in the compass.