Remote drone from GCS over 4G network

Hi everybody. I’m a newbie. I am trying to create a project to control my drone from the ground station.
My drone is built from: RPI + Navio2. I am referencing the model below, but how can I connect the drone to the gateway (RPI + 3DR Telemetry Radio). Thanks for the help from everyone.

Once you are using a RPi+Linux board FC (Navio2), you’re ready to control your vehicle remotely from GCS.

All you need is to add 4G link to RPi, like a USB modem stick and create a way to link to GCS, like vpn, public IP, etc.

If you are comfortable to deal with that, go ahead.
Otherwise I reccomend to you UAV Cast Pro, wich is a all-in-one solution for the scenario.

1 Like

Hi, thanks for your comments. I am using zerotier to provide static ip. My RPI and GCS are already connected to Zerotier. How can I connect from Qgroundcontroll to Zerotier? Thank you.

It’s just follow the Emlid Navio2 docs as:

pi@navio: ~ $ sudo nano /etc/default/arducopter

Add

TELEM2 ="-A udp:192.168.1.2:14550"

Replace the 192… ip above to your GCS zerotier ip.

Here you can check the full config docs.

1 Like

I got an error like this. I check again, still see RPI and GCS connecting to zerotier. Even I’m still SSH to RPI using IP from Zerotier.

First of all: your IP address is not correct written (you cannot use spaces between numbers and dots).

Parts of IP address

Additionally, you didn’t follow the docs by the book. Don’t need to change the TELEM1 variable. Just add/edit TELEM2.

1 Like

Hi, I’m sorry I didn’t tell you about the IP address, I masked some.

I am following these instructions

I am trying to build a small project like this. Is there anything I am missing from this model, if so please let me know? At GCS I establish a UDP or TCP connection with the RPI address zerotier provided right? Thanks for your advice.

You design seems to be ok, the basic problem is you are typing a space inside your IPs address.

The IPs should be: