OpenPilot Revo with Arducopter and OPLink Mini?

I’m in the proccess of trying out Arducopter on OpenPilot Revo hardware. Seems connect and configure fine from Mission Planner via a USB cable, but after a bit of head scratching I’m still not able to get Mission Planner to connect via the OPLink radios.
They so far don’t behave link the old 3DR radios I’m used to (no Link LED and not accessible via the SIK Radio GUI).
Has anybody had success via OPLink radios ?
I’m wondering if the radio modules are supported in the ported over FC code yet.

Reference.
http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-openpilot-revo-mini.html

@sneezy,

I have no experience with these radios but I’ve ping the ArduPilot/ChibiOS gitter channel to see if anyone knows.

To me they look like serial radios which I would have thought would have worked but I’m guessing. Anyway, let’s see if any of the ChibiOS experts know…

hey sneezy,
see section “default interfaces” in referenced wiki page. OPLINK hardware on fullsize revo is not supported by ardupilot firmware as for now.
revomini’s OPLink port pins however can be used to connect alternative hardware like an external SD card adapter. this requires setting respective pin assignments in hwdef and recompiling though.

cheers, basti.

Thanks basti, that info will save me a lot of time today, much appreciated.

Sadly we made an assumption that we would be able to use the built-in radio module, we’ll need to work around that problem or swap to another FC.

I’m not 100% sure but I think the OPLink radio chip (RFM22B ?) uses SPI bus to converse with the FC MCU, which is a big difference to the old school TTL serial used by the 3DR type radio modems.
At the least I can see that Ardupilot would need to have SPI comms modules in the code and know the address of the chip as a starting point, a bit like the digital pitot sensor (which is I2C).

Thanks,
Martin

1 Like