Newby considering ardupilot

I am an experience rc pilot mainly focused on helicopters. My working models utilise Skookum and DJI H which I consider to be outdated. My working models are 700 sized flybarless and I have been told that the control board needs to be central ie under the CofG.
My questions are - 1 could I utilise arducopter leaving just setup procedures and 2 - positioning of the unit.
Thanking you
Charlie

I re-tagged this to trad-heli.
The guys who can give you the best advice may not read rover posts :wink:

Welcome,

Traditional Helicopters have been gaining more and more support within ArduPilot so you came in at the right time.

I would urge you to check the excellent tutorials that @ChrisOlson has published here http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/traditional-helicopter-configuration.html

and also follow our progress on bringing a new 700 class heli (a ThunderTiger E700) to the newest firmware available (3.6RC), which has already given some great results. Here Thunder Tiger E700 and here ThunderTiger E700 v2 - Going electric

About positioning the Flight controller is not critical, as long you are careful with vibration isolation, or use a Flight Controller that provides some isolation internally.

Hi!
The last time I flew a heli was my father’s nitro engine-powered Hirobo Shuttle Plus about six years ago, no flight controllers, only a tail gyro. I don’t have any experience with ArduCopter trad-heli, but I have setup multiple quadcopters, a couple of hexacopters and one octocopter and in my experience, at least for mulitrotors, vibration isolation of your flight controller usually translates to hassle-free operation.

1. In your first question, could you please clarify what you mean by “leaving just setup procedures”?