How to determine Voltage Multiplier and Amps/Volt in QGroundControl?

Hello,

I’m new to drone configuration and am right now trying to reconfigure my Battery Monitor reading on QGroundControl, but I do not know the voltage multiplier nor the amps/volt. The application says to just measure the voltage of the battery and the current draw from the battery with the motors not running, but using these values results in nonsense readings when looking at the telemetry data expressing these two values.

So, I tried to follow the steps of this thread: Power Monitor setup on ArduPilot Copter 3.6+

He says that the voltage multiplier and amps/volt are provided by the manufacturer of the power module of the drone. And looking at his link for his power module, it does not clearly state his two values. My power module (Web Store) doesn’t seem to state this either. To compensate, I guessed and checked my way to the “correct” voltage multiplier by changing it until I got what I knew what the battery voltage, and I calculated the average current draw (total current draw when drone is hovering). However, I am very uncertain about using these values.

So, how to do I either accurately calculate the voltage multiplier and the amps/volt or find the values given by the power module?

(For reference if needed: Battery Voltage is 22.7V, 30000 mAh, current draw with no motors on is 0.30A; let me know if any other information is needed)

This will be wildly inaccurate. The easiest way to set the amps/volt value is to fly a fully charged battery and from the flight log note the consumed mah. Then re-charge the battery and note the charged mah. Then calculate a new amps/volt value by:
New amps/volt=(old amps/volt*charged mah)/logged mah

Do this a couple times and it will be close enough for all purposes.

1 Like