Help newbie: Issue with expresslrs and ardupilot

Hi all,
I am new to this ardupilot situation and i have run into some issues.
Firstly, i am using mission planner 1.3.79 and i am not able to calibrate the compass. I am using a ‘Matek F405-WTE’ flight controller (the one with the expresslrs receiver built in) and a matek ‘GNSS & compass M10-5883’. Each time i try, i move the compass around as instructed but once i get to 100%, the green bar resumes to 0% and i have to start over again and this happens continuously.
Secondly, when i try to calibrate the radio in mission planner, nothing is happening when i move the sticks on my radio. I have also noticed that in the ‘Data’ tab of mission planner, it says it has failsafed but the LED on both the Tx and Rx are solid indicating that they are bound so i’m really lost. For the radio setup, I am using an axisflying Thor TX pro with the latest version of ELRS (3.1.2) and on the receiver side, i am using the built in ELRS receiver which i have also flashed with the latest version of ELRS (3.1.2).
Any help would be much appreciated. This is the first time i am playing around with ardupilot.
Thanks again for any help :slight_smile:

Try to calibrate the compass outside with a good GPS lock. Also, is the GPS/Compass module installed into the plane with the flight controller? Because both the FC and GPS/Compass need to be moving together when you do the calibration.

Sorry, can’t offer any advice on the ELRS. But I’m sure somebody else can.

Thank you for the suggestion!!! i have not installed the FC and GPS into the aircraft yet and i had not realised that i had to move both of them together. i tried callibrating it again whilst moving them both together and it WORKED!!! thank you so much!

1 Like