ArduCopter 6" Midrange Cruiser

Well, here’s a middle child between the 7" standard build and the 5" standard build - a mid-weight, mid-range copter capable of some respectable aerobatics with good range and Arducopter bells and whistle.

My goal was to have a reliable cruiser/adventure copter that I can take on holiday and get nice GoPro footage. IMHO a 6" copter is the smallest size that can carry a GoPro and cruise efficiently, and I think a lightly built 5" LR quad would struggle. A 7" on the other hand, is quite large and heavy to carry for travel. I’m a pretty experienced FPV pilot and fly acro often with Betaflight. Having dealt with Ardupilot at work, I set it upon myself to see if I can build and tune an Arducopter that flies on par with Betaflight/INAV birds in acro mode, but with autonomous capabilities and rock-solid RTL :slight_smile:

I express a lot of gratitude to @andyp1per for how well put together the 5" and 7" build and tuning guides are. If you haven’t read it already, watch through all the Chimera videos! The tuning process for this aircraft was pretty much exactly the same as the Chimera, with the dynamic notch filters based on bidirectional DShot being the cornerstone to good performance.

Good endurance and acro was enabled by the light and stiff 6" frame, combined with homemade 4S1P 21700 Li-ion packs. I used Molicel P42As, which have a very respectable continuous discharge rating of 40A. Rumours have it that they can burst up to 80A but I’d rather not find out the limit the hard way by popping a cell.

Bill of Materials
This quad was cobbled together from semi-used bits lying around so nothing special apart from the frame.

• Frame: HaloRC Osiris 6": HaloRC - Osiris This is a reasonably light, roomy and (as logs later reveal) stiff frame coming in at only a shade over 100g.