Will GPS-for-yaw work far offshore? [yes]

Hello,

I am planning to use a VTOL on the deep sea in the South Pacific, equipped with two CUAV c-RTK 9PS GPS (C-RTK 9Ps Centimetre-Level GNSS Module – CUAV 雷迅创新). However, I have a question regarding its ability

The VTOL I am purchasing uses two GPS to calculate the heading instead of a compass due to magnetic interference from the ship. However, I am uncertain whether the RTK GPS will function normally on the deep sea, as there is no nearby land and thus no ground station. Would it be sufficient to use a mobile ground station?

As I have limited knowledge on this topic, any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

edited : we will use ground base station.

Moving baseline configurations (GPS-for-yaw) work independent of any fixed base. You don’t need one unless you also desire precisely corrected position, in which case, I can’t help with how that might work on a boat.

Thank you for letting me know that GPS-for-yaw works independently of any fixed base.

However, I’m curious about what happens when RTK is not available in the deep sea of the South Pacific. Does GPS-for-yaw get disabled in such cases?

The (onboard) moving base GPS provides corrections to the rover GPS. It generates its own RTCM3 messages. It should work nearly worldwide. You are needlessly conflating moving baseline configurations (onboard relative positioning) with fixed base operations (off board corrections for absolute positioning).

Moving baseline configurations (GPS-for-yaw) work independent of any fixed base.

← thank you. but my seller said GPS-for-yaw function disabled when RTK signal is lost.

is that correct? maybe my GPS module have no magnetometer inside.

That’s just simply misleading.

Moving baseline configurations are self-contained. They work regardless of the availability of any external correction source or magnetometer. Therefore you can expect GPS-for-yaw to work even in the middle of the Pacific.