Why does fresh clone work, while current up to date code base fails?

Hello People. I’m new here. I’m a software engineer (mainly Python/php/Golang/Java but not much C/C++ experience yet) and I want to get started with the ArduPilot code base, specifically for planes. I’ve been reading the documentation, running simulations and today I wrote some code for a simple new flight mode. I ran into compilation errors though, so I removed everything I wrote and tried running a simulation (and thereby compiling) again. I seem to have trouble with the submodules though. So I think I’ve got that all cleaned up and this is the current status:

kramer65@xps:~/repos/ardupilot$ git status
On branch master
Your branch is up to date with 'origin/master'.

nothing to commit, working tree clean
kramer65@xps:~/repos/ardupilot$ git pull
Already up to date.
kramer65@xps:~/repos/ardupilot$ git submodule update --init --recursive
kramer65@xps:~/repos/ardupilot$

I then tried running the simulation again:

kramer65@xps:~/repos/ardupilot$ cd Tools/autotest/
kramer65@xps:~/repos/ardupilot/Tools/autotest$ ./sim_vehicle.py --console --map -v ArduPlane

This creates a LOT of output, but it ends with this error:

Waf: Leaving directory `/home/kramer65/repos/ardupilot/build/sitl'
Build failed
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/kramer65/repos/ardupilot/modules/waf/waflib/Node.py", line 960, in get_bld_sig
    ret = cache[self]
KeyError: /home/kramer65/repos/ardupilot/libraries/AP_HAL/QSPIDevice.h

During handling of the above exception, another exception occurred:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/kramer65/repos/ardupilot/modules/waf/waflib/Runner.py", line 395, in task_status
    return tsk.runnable_status()
  File "/home/kramer65/repos/ardupilot/modules/waf/waflib/extras/clang_compilation_database.py", line 76, in runnable_status
    run_status = self.old_runnable_status()