What hardware do I need to start with ArduPilot?

I’m a software enigneer and I want to do a deep dive into ArduPilot for fixed wing planes (ArduPlane). I’ve been reading the code and running some simulations. But of course, there’s nothing like the real thing. I’ve been flying FPV quadcopters for a couple years but I’ve never flown a fixed wing. So I’m now making a list for the hardware I need to start.

I was thinking of buying the following:

Some questions I have:

• I also want to control the airplane with a GCS. What hardware do I need to remotely connect my laptop to the airplane?
  • What do you think of the items on this list? Do the items make sense?
  • Am I missing anything? All tips are welcome.

The matek wing controllers are easy to use and very suitable for fixed wing and rover use.

1 Like

Will a Pixhawk 6c even fit in that plane?
Get a Radiomaster Tx16S instead.

Agree about the TX16S and recommend ExpressLRS as the protocol. There may be a slight amount of frustration in initial setup, but ExpressLRS performs quite well once configured. It’s certainly no more frustrating than the myriad of FrSky firmware nightmares you’d experience otherwise.

Thanks for the tips @dkemxr and @Yuri_Rage. The TX16S indeed looks good. Especially because I think it can also receive telemetry (is that correct?). From what I understand I also need a telemetry module in the plane. Can I buy the SiK Telemetry Radio V3 module and connect it to the TX16S?

And then I can hook up the TX16S to my laptop to have my GCS talk to the plane right?

You can use yaapu script if you dont need full gcs, all depends what you are doing with the vehicle,
Yaapu is designed to give autopilot telemetry back to transmitter and display it on treansmitter screen widget

@Scott_Nunan - I do really want to use the GCS. Am I correct in that I need to install the SiK Telemetry Radio V3 module in the airplane, which I can connect to the TX16S, which in turn can be hooked up to the laptop?