Unable to arm, not all channels are registering. compass question..help!

Ok so I am brand new and have so much to learn, but I am hoping you guys can help me get off the ground. I am using the AMP “2.8” kit from Amazon on a quad I 3d printed. Its the Crossfire 2 frame. and this is my first build.
I have a few separate questions, but the biggest issue I am having is arming and getting the motors to spin. I have gone through the setup wizard multiple times and i am seeing a few issues. my radio calibration is showing inputs for my sticks but not my switches. I am using the Taranis QX-7 and the X8R receiver. I created the channels on the radio, but cant seem to get any input to register on channel 5 in the mission planner setup wizard.

Separate issue. I mounted my GPS/Compass puck on the top of the frame, not on the supplied mast, when I went to do the compass calibration, I could not seem to get it to hit all the data points with the compass mounted to the frame. I detached the compass and rotated it around separate from the APM and the frame, and it seemed to capture all the data points. is this ok? or is it going to screw up since it was oriented separately from the APM during the calibration?

I guess all this boils down to, when I finish the setup, I cant get it to arm or spin the motors. If I understand correctly, I am supposed to bring the throttle down, and to the right for 5 seconds to arm, but it does nothing. I would really prefer to arm with the switch on the transmitter if possible, but whatever get it to arm would make me happy at this point.
Thank you for the help. I am really excited to see this thing work, Ive been printing the quad piece by piece for about 8 months, and I feel like I am SOO close. so you can imagine my frustration.