Trying to figure out why controller isn't picked up by Pixhawk/Mission Planner (solved)

Hello, I am using a PPM-enabled transmitter/receiver (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07DPK9Q9X?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details) and I can’t get the transmitter to show in Mission Planner.

The PPM pins are connected to the Pixhawk’s RC pins in the right order (on receiver, white wire up, on Pixhawk, black wire up). I know the transmitter connects to the receiver because the light goes solid and I’ve tested the motors by plugging the receiver directly into the ESCs. I’m very new to drones so I’m probably doing something simple wrong, but I’m having trouble finding out what. Any advice? Thank you.

Edit: I figured it out!!! The receiver was not in the right mode. I started reading the receiver’s documentation and figured out how to get it into PPM mode.

Good work.
Feel free to yell out if you have any other difficulties or just questions.

I am now working on another problem if you have a moment :slight_smile:
I have performed the ESC calibration but I’m still not able to get the motors to move from the transmitter. I’ve messed with the ESC calibration screen and might’ve messed up the settings. I’ve also tried to do ESC calibration the other way putting the joystick up, connecting the battery, disconnecting the battery, etc. but just nothing happens. I did exactly what the person in the YouTube video did with a different result. I’m just not sure what to do because Mission Planner is reading my transmitter’s controls but the motors seem to plain old just not move! And yes I press the safety switch so it goes solid.

Are the motors working with the motor test function in Mission Planner?

https://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/connect-escs-and-motors.html#checking-the-motor-numbering-with-the-mission-planner-motor-test

Nothing happens when I press Test motor A, B, etc. or Test all motors. I tried changing the throttle % from 5 to 50 to 90 but nothing happened.