Trigger an arducam camera connected to Raspberry Pi during planned mission

Hello, everyone. I’m quite new to all this DIY drones community. I built my first quadcopter using Readytosky’s Pixhawk 2.4.8 and the Copter V4.1.5 firmware and I’m using a Raspberry Pi 4 as a companion computer and I wish to take photos with an Arducam camera connected to the RPi through commands on the flight plan tab at specific waypoints during an autonomous mission. Which tools do I need to do set up the camera on the raspberry pi and perform this task?

I’m aware of dronekit-python and MAVproxy, but I don’t see much activity regarding how to use them and I’ve been reading the official documentation to see if this is possible and I’m having a hard time to know where to start.

Hi am lookin for the same solution, my goal is to capture high resolution geotaged images using pixhawk + respberry pi 4 + arducam 16mp autofocus camera. It should be abble to capture geotagged images autonomusly in while completing a mission.
please let me know if there is a lead/hint/soution.
Thank you.

Have you had any success triggering the pi
cam from the ardupilot fc? Looking for best practice to do the same thing.

//Carl

The functionality isn’t there yet, but I am slowly working on adding this capability to @stephendade’s excellent Rpanion-server: Feature request: Local image and video recording (MAVLink camera control) · Issue #167 · stephendade/Rpanion-server · GitHub

1 Like

Yes, for a simple solution you can execute a simple python script on Rpi, which will be continuously listening for a signal from pixhawk (signal responsible for triggering camera ). after detecting the signal you can trigger the cam.
Example:

import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
import os, sys
import time
import argparse

# Init GPIO, use GPIO pin 5 as input trigger from APM/Pixhawk
camTrigger = 5
GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM) # specify which mode to use(BCM/BOard) for pin numbering