Throttle Stick Centered? OR Throttle Stick Down?

I’ve been flying DJI’s for several years and gotten accustomed to both sticks auto-centering (springs,) but when setting up my Pixhawk based drones, the radios came with the throttle stick down, not centering at half throttle. I haven’t actually flown that way (throttle stick not auto-centered) yet because I’ve been waiting for either the weather to warm enough for auto-tuning process, or for a U.S. distributor to get the Hex board with orange cube in stock.

I was getting anxious not flying, so I bound my Taranis to my little pocket drone (Syma x21) and flew it around with my Taranis. It was difficult! Flying with the throttle stick just loose and not centering required me to always be on the throttle, and centering it while I was just buzzing the house was also a bit of a challenge to get used to.

How do you set your throttle? Do you have it set to auto center the throttle, or do you prefer to manually continually throttle up and down or center it yourself? What will happen if I set my throttle to auto-center? Will it maintain altitude or will it be rising or dropping constantly? Will my MOT_HOVER_LEARN figure it out for me and keep a (mostly) constant altitude when I let go of the throttle if I use the springs to auto-center it?

Parameter PILOT_THR_BHV (https://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/parameters.html#pilot-thr-bhv-throttle-stick-behavior) changes how the throttle stick behaves. A value of 7 is for a throttle stick that spring centers like a DJI or 3DR Solo. A value of 6 is for throttle sticks that do not spring center, like any normal RC controller.

In either case, you want MOT_HOVER_LEARN set for 2 (learn & save). The throttle will be scaled so center stick is the throttle required for level hover.

3 Likes