Steam Deck as Mission Planner PC?

Do any of you with more experience have any comments about the possibility of using Valves announced Steam Deck as a Mission Planner computer?

The Steam Deck is likely overkill for computational requirements of Mission Planner but the built in joysticks and buttons sure seem like they would be useful as input devices.

Dave2D and other tech YouTubers sure seem impressed with the specs of these devices.

I’m new to ArduPilot and I haven’t actually used Mission Planner to monitor an airborne vehicle yet. I may be missing some important information, but from what I’ve learned the Steam Deck seems like a great tool for UAV control.

My main concern about using the Steam Deck as a ground control station is the small screen size. The Steam Deck can drive external monitors but adding an extra monitor would negate much of the appeal of using the device.

Again, I’m curious what those of you with more experience have to say on this topic.

That and an RFD900 might make an interesting controller.

1 Like

The only thing I would say that if Windows just recognizes this as a regular joystick then there will be a good amount of lag going from Windows --> Mission Planner --> Radio --> Aircraft. I have run joystick control via MP over 900MHz and it is a good second of delay or so.

But yeah - pair the guy with an external radio and it looks like a solid offering.

1 Like

Hi,

from my understanding this device runs on SteamOS, some kind of Linux.

Be default yes - but it is open to load any OS.

1 Like

That’s my understanding as well. I’m pretty sure you could put Windows on it.

Have you figured out where these delays occur?

The joystick interface needs to be low latency to use with a game so I can’t imagine there being much lag in a joystick/OS interface.