SmartAudio for VTX Mateksys 405 WING

Hello All,

This is my first post here and I’m new to the hobby so please excuse and noobness.

I have a Mateksys 405 FC with a VTX with a Smartaudio input. The VTX I have is a pain to change the power / band / channel and I want to be able to do this outside of pressing the tiny button on the VTX and trying to understand the LED’s!

At the moment I’d be happy just to be able to control the power with a 3 point switch on the controller.

From what I can understand I have a few options as this is not supported by Ardupilot out of the box;

1. Upgrade my FC so I can run LUA scripts and writing something that could control it. (would need to buy a F765)
  2. Build a custom firmware using the smartaudio branch on GitHub. (pain with new releases)
  3. Upgrade my RC receiver so it includes a smart audio link so I can change the settings via my Taranis qx7 (expensive?)

Any I missing something? Does anyone else have any other suggestions.

Thanks,

Craig

Trying to go down the LUA script route but I’m having issues opening the serial port. It seems that the examples say to use the following;

local port = serial:find_serial(0)
if not port then
gcs:send_text(0, “No Scripting Serial Port”)
return
end

However this just causes LUA to not run so I’m assuming the code is dodge.

Anyone know how I can send hex(hexidecimal) to a serial port in LUA?

you will need to run master branch code to use the master examples.

https://firmware.ardupilot.org/Plane/latest/

great thanks I will try that. How do I get the master examples to run in Mission Planner? I have tried downloading the latest beta build but I still get the same issue.

Ctrl + q in the load firmware page or download from the above link and upload with the custom firmware button

I don’t have my FC here at the moment so wanted to use sitl - is that possible to use the lastest Dev firmware in the simulation?

I have managed to get the latest 4.1 build onto a Matek F765-WING.