Slow Motor Emergency Stop handling

Dear developers, I had an unfortunate crash with a large hexa due to a single errorous ppm frame.

I am using the Motor Emergency Stop feature on channel 12 and while flying normally at low altitude the pixhawk received a single errorous frame which caused many channels to suddenly jump. An event was logged to stop the motors, which is as expected, but the event only cleared after approx 300 milliseconds and after this it took a further 600 milliseconds to even start spinning up the motors.

The blue line is RCIN12 (the emergency stop channel) and the others are the motor signals.

Why does it take so long to even clear the emergency stop event and why are the motor signals not immediatelly restored to their previous values? I am not an expert, but it seems like, that the PID controller stops working and is not executed in case of an emergency stop event. Is it possible to fix this issue? Do you know of any similar cases?

Another thing, that could have prevented the crash would be to only activate the emergency stop when the signal is received for lets say at least 1/4 of a second. Is there any chance this could be implemented in the next release?

My setup is a hexa, pixhawk cube black with Arducopter 3.6.12, RFD868x modules and a Horus. I am already in contact with the RFD guys to check the modems.

Logs please.

Did you have throttle failsafe configured appropriately?

Logs: https://we.tl/t-SOjKJaFqAh

This was not a failsafe event, since the ppm values were different to what I set up.

This is probably a similar scenario to the recent accidental parachute deployment. The discussion then (maybe a week ago) was perhaps aux options that are crash-o-match should require X number of loops or X milliseconds of RC input before triggering. This is probably another good example of that need.

1 Like