Seemingly good optical flow data, but copter ignoring it

Hello, first post here hopefully someone can give me a hand.

I’ve been trying to achieve a stable loiter without GPS on a 450 size quad using a Pixhawk Cube, Lidar Lite, and PX4Flow. My Quad flies very stable in normal loiter with EK2_GPS_TYPE set to 0 and using the rangefinder for altitude. The data from the rangefinder also seems to match the Baro altitude, so I think that’s working ok. Looking at the logs (which I’m not good at) it seems that the data coming from the flow sensor matches what the Wiki says it should so it seems to be working correctly as well. However, when I switch to EK2_GPS_TYPE 3 (no gps) it drifts away with the light breeze like its just in altitude hold mode and isn’t using the flow data at all. Not sure what else to check or what parameter I’m missing to allow the EKF to use the flow data. Attached are my logs from the last flight where it would drift away, then I’d correct and let go only for it to drift away again.

Log Files: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1qj5pNwA67FJ55tJqTiqFQiQRJXMv3lG5

And so the plot thickens. I’ve been mulling over the forums for the last few hours and read that EK3 needs to be enabled for flow to work. Well, I enabled EK3 and now my Pixhawk completely freezes up whenever I try to arm and requires a power cycle to alleviate. Even after I disabled EK3 again. Grrr…

To simply use only the optical flow sensor and not the GPS it’s definitely not necessary to use EKF3. It may be necessary to use the EKF3 if both GPS and optical flow are to be used at the same time but this is actually not a well tested setup. For now, I would go back to using the EKF2 which is what’s described on the wiki.

A few thoughts:

• The flight controller should be rebooted if the EK2_GPS_TYPE parameter is changed
  • FlowHold mode will probably work