Rover with mecanum omnidirectional wheels

Hello,

we have a rover with mecanum omnidirectional wheels. It seems that ardupilot does not support side movements in auto mode for such a rover. I am a software developer and I would like to implement something for this.

I do not have too much experiences with ardupilot code. Previously I was able to do some small modifications in GPS part.

Do you have any suggestion where to start or at least some hint to understand the ardupilot code which is responsible for transforming movement goals to instructions for motor controller?

Thanks,

Marian

A quick google search for “ardupilot mecanum” gave me this: https://ardupilot.org/rover/docs/rover-motor-and-servo-connections.html

Did you see that?

Hello Marian

Take a look at this thread Support for Omni Boats coming in Rover-3.5 if you follow it down near the bottom Ammarf has already got a good start on the code for lateral movement in Auto mode. Randy will probably be able to give you a hand with starting.

Cheers

Thanks. This is what we have started with. The setting works fine with manual rc control but does not seem to work in auto mode.

Thanks. Ammarf’s code pointed me to the relevant parts of the code. Strangely, it looks that many of those changes are incorporated into the current release of the rover. I’ll have to figure out why it does not work for me.

Hello Erl,