Rover navigation with RTK fixes

Hi, I am new to the ardupilot plateform and I’m having a bit of trouble with my rover’s navigation.

I’m working on a project where I need a skid-rover to follow a path made out of waypoint in a polygon. We bought aion robotics’s R1 model and have a reach M2 onboard and a reach RS2 as the base. The challenge here is that we need the rover to complete a parcour with a precision of 10cm and less so our external payload can take good magnetic mesures.

My problem is:
When I’m doing a simple path where the waypoints are at 0.5meters at least from each others, the rover seems to be very precise, but whenever I try to reduce the “distance between lines” (from the simplegrid auto-wp option) at 0.3 meters and under, the rover starts being unprecise and not follow its path.

Here is some pictures of 2 “not so bad” attempts I made today, with wp at 0.5meters min from each other:

And here is what happens when I reduce the “distance between lines”:

There are 2 binary files from today’s test, and the first one has a bit of MANUAL movement since I was tuning the steering pid:

If you have any suggestions or if there is something wrong in my post/rover-configurations, I’m all open to hear it!

Thanks a lot

If the telemetry is going in the pics you posted than you are not in RTK.
Just checked logs, your gps is always in status 3 (3dfix), never RTK FIX, not even FLOAT.
It even goes to 0 sats for few seconds on log 2.

You mean if the rover is connected to MissionPlaner, the telemetry is going there and there is no rtk fixes coming for the rover?

I just checked your logs, You never have an rtk fix or float in those logs. Only 3dfix
If you want precision you need to setup your system to work in rtk fixed.

https://docs.emlid.com/reachm2/ardupilot-integration/

1 Like

I have seen this documentation, but I was stucked at the " Configuring radio for embedding corrections into telemetry" steps since I’m receiving the rover’s data through wifi.