Quadplane Hover Tests Done, Tuning Advice Needed Please

Hoping for some guidance here: I’ve done some basic tests on my Quadplane in rotary wing mode (no transition as yet) and I’m looking for some tuning tips. Whilst I have 3 fixed aircraft flying well on Pixhawk, I have very little experience with Copter firmware (all my rotary wings are DJI). The aircraft was well baselined in fixed-wing mode, having done 10+ flights (before the Quadplane mods). I have tried Qhover and Qstabilize modes and these are my observations:

1. The aileron/bank control and pitch controls are very sensitive to stick input – do I lower the Q_A_RAT_RLL_P and Q_A_RAT_PIT_P?

2. I am find that I need to maintain forward stick to hold position – is there a way of fixing this?

Thanks,
Jacques

Did some ore tests today, at first I tried lowering Q_A_RAT_RLL_P and Q_A_RAT_PIT_P all the way down to 0.1 but discovered it was not very stable. I then put them all the way back up to 0.25 (default values) and things were much better. I played around with QHover and QLoiter modes and discovered that the hypersensitivity to stick input is only occuring in QStabilize mode so I guess I just won’t use that in future. So, all is fine, apart from the tendency to drift backwards in non-GPS modes (QHover and QStabilize). The booms are pretty much level with the the lower surface of the wing and the plane was well baselined in it’s fixed-wing only configuration, so I’m not quite sure what to do. Not a major problem as I can just use QLoiter most of the time (except when transitioning from fixed wing flight to rotary wing, as that will supposedly stress the airframe).

@jacques_eloff,
The rate parameters (the ones starting with Q_A_RAT_) are not the right ones to reduce the sensitivity to stick input. A log would tell me more, but I would instead suggest: