Quadcopter unstable after a few seconds in loiter mode

Hello to everybody,

This is my first post on the Ardupilot forum and English is not my native language. So please don’t judge me to hard. I am in to RC flying for over 20 years, fixed wing and I have only recently (2 years ago) bought a drone as I would like to learn about autonomous flight. My dream is to do some RC glider towing/ huckepack where the towing/ carrying plane is controlled by a flight controller.

The hexacopter which I have build in the meantime is flying good even when I am not an expert in tuning and setup.

For this specific issue, I am trying to help my father upgrading a quadcopter (F450) style. I am aware that this airframe is quite weak but the craft was flying before with a Naza-M lite. In favour of more options we have decided to upgrade to Ardupilot on a Pixhawk 2.4.8 clone. As far as I know we did all the necessary setup including the “Alt-A” calculator in MP. (Although, I think that I missed the RC calibration on the latest attempt.)

The craft has 3d fix and we disabled the external compass as we were unable to calibrate that compass. Arming via right rudder was no problem and also take-off was uneventful but after a few seconds of hover in Loiter mode the copter got unstable, crash landed and turned on its back. Fortunately, without major damage.

In the log I noticed that Att.DesRoll and Att.Roll are not aligned. But I can’t figure out why. Vibes are a bit high but no clipping visible in the log.

At the moment of writing I do only have some generic data about this copter as it is more than 600 kilometres away:

• F450 style frame
  • 4 in 1 esc without BLHeli firmware
  • 3s 5000mAh Lipo battery
  • Props 9x4.5
  • Pixhawk 2.4.8 clone with Neo M8N GPS/ Compass
  • Both V4.07 and the V4.1 Beta software have been tried
  • AUW about 1 kg

Picture shows the frame with the old fc still mounted.