Pixhawk with external FBL unit

I am attempting to use a Pixhawk for navigation and a helicopter FBL unit for Stability. I have read in several places this is possible. But after some attempts at making it work I believe I am simply misunderstanding some basic concepts. I have tried it on the older Pixhawk and the new Pixhawk 2.1. When I attempt to make it work it appears both the pixhawk and the external FBL attempt to fly the helicopter.

I appreciate any amount of help I can get. Links to videos, instructions or messaging.

Just for general info, this is Curtis YoungbIood, I used to be quite active in the RC helicopter community with a lot of experience in 3D flying, FAI and our own flight controls. I have a lot of experience setting up Multirotors, airplanes and even the Quad planes on the Pixhawk. All of these had different steps in logic but were not that difficult to implement, so I think I am just missing something in the basic logic of getting the pixhawk to work with an external FBL unit.

Again, Thank you for any help you can provide.

Hi Curtis,

Currently we are redoing the TradHeli experience and setup, but you can followup the docs starting here: http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/traditional-helicopter-connecting-apm.html.

Any specific reason to still use the FBL controller? We are trying very hard with the latest releases (currently 3.6RC2) to bring a good experience on both Nav and Stab. Could you elaborate a bit on reasons of the FBL controller choice, if you want via PM ?

I’m also pinging @ChrisOlson and @bnsgeyer our TradHeli maintainers.

Best regards

Luis

Hi Curtis! Glad to see you here. I miss your autorotation seminars. IRCHA is not like the old days anymore**. :grinning: