Pixhawk not connecting to GPS

I need help to resolve two Pixhawk problems. This is my first build so likely something I did something wrong. The Quad has NEVER registered the GPS. Working with the sales company I got them to send me a replacement GPS which also does NOT connect. Mission Planner shows NO GPS. The system does ARM and the motors spin up. First flight resulted in a uncommanded fly up ending with crash, Looking at logs they all have exactly the same time stamp of 12-31-1979 18-00-00. Apparently the system log at each power cycle as I show 82 entries. The log files show only a vertical line of select data.
I expect the FC to have an internal clock or ie it totally dependent on GPS?

Equipment: Powerday DIY F450 Quadcopter
Pixhawk FC
7M GPS
Simonk 30A ESC
2212-920 Motor
Ovonic AIR 3000 mAh 3S 50C Battery

System time is fetched from GPS only, afaik.

Not 100% sure what you mean by this, but if you’re using Mission Planner to look at the logs, try unchecking the “Use Time” checkbox. I don’t know if it depends on the GPS time to graph properly.

I haven’t used a 7M module myself, but many of these modules come with cables meant for an APM. You might have to change cables or rearrange the connector pins to make it compatible with a Pixhawk. The GPS should connect to the serial port, and there should be a separate cable for the compass, which is I2C. Do you know if your compass works, at least?

Thank for the reply. Update; the GSP cable was the total problem. The Pixhawk has ground mapped to the pin opposite the red (*Vcc) pin (6). The M7 connector has only 5 pin and was the not seeing the ground. I modified GPS with a 6 wire cable/connector and it now works. The GPS being active does correct the logging problem too. Now have a time line in the data stream. To help me understand the log files I down loaded one from this site & was able view it with Mission Planner.