Newbie Questions about Boat Frames

Hi folks - arduPilot newbie here but with good experience with arduino projects. I have seen some good discussion about boat frames, including new omni boat, but still looking for guidance & thoughts on the following:

I’m planning an arduboat project that will hopefully be flexible enough for a variety of pond/lake missions including inspection, mapping, weed/algae mgt. The boat must be capable of fully autonomous, remote controlled and piloted operation. It must be highly stable and maneuverable, with flexibility to add/modify instrumentation and attachments. Must be easily launchable from variety of shorelines. It must be able to operate in shallow and possibly weedy water. Top speed of ~5 mph.

My questions:

• any guidance on the optimal frame ? I’m leaning toward a variety of commercially available 1 or 2 man inflatable or rigid pontoons (aluminum or molded poly) per examples attached.

• any guidance on propulsion ? I was considering a pair of Blue Robotics T200 thrusters even tho they are not ideal in weeds. Is the max 11 lbs thrust going to be sufficient ? How/where on the pontoons would they be mounted ? …or would a vectored thrust electric trolling motor be the way to go ? If so is there a preferred supplier of a arduPilot-ready outboard ? If not, does anyone have experience with modifying/adapting a suitable trolling motor ?

Thanks in advance for any guidance to get me started in the best direction.

Tom

Colorado-1man-InflatablePontoon

I doubt you will get to 5mph with the thrusters on these types of boats. 2.5 to 3 is probably more realistic.