Newbie putting a rover BOM together

Registered today after a few days of reading, yes, my head is spinning, as I am new to all of it.
I understand electronics and software; however, I never had or ealt with an RC controlled vehicle, not with any autonomous vehicle.

I live on 10 acres, with 5 acres needing to be mowed. While I like the place, I do not like mowing, which I consider a waste of my time… :slight_smile: so many things I want and need to do; mowing just does not fit the bill ATM.

So I read a few blogs on building an autonomous lawnmower; more specifically the MrMower blog. And here I am, wanting to build one of these.

I can weld and solder, hence, building the mechanics of it is not seen as a difficult task. However, the ‘controlling’ side of things is where I am kindly seeking input, which would help me to come up with a BOM I can order in confidence; meaning I have the right parts that work with ArduPilot and a system that works on a Linux Mint machine.

From what I gather, there are three main systems:

1. A fixed GPS station to provide a defined reference to increase the accuracy of received GPS SAT signals.
  2. the autonomous rover with all its electronic bits
  3. some mission control and route planner software

MrMower had this block diagram:

… which agrees with me from a functional perspective.
The only thing missing are the three cutting deck motors, and linear drive rod thingy to adjust the height of the deck.

What components do I have to buy to get this system going?
My philosophy here is, while there is a limit to the budget, I’d like to buy brand gear simply to eliminate any compatibility issues, which would be hard for me to track down, given my current inexperience with these systems.

• I have the batteries (a left over from a solar PV project) 8 LiFePO$ cells 3.2V @ 400Ah.
  • I have ordered two wheelchair motors,
  • a Sabertooth 2x60,
  • the Mauch 24/5V converter, and the Mauch I/V meter.
  • have the Linux PC and/or laptop