Need to select hardware for robotic drone development

I’m looking to buy a hardware flight controller to run Copter. I have quads flying with Betaflight and will convert a large one (500mm diagonal with 11" props) to Copter.

I am a long-time software engineer with experience in real-time and micro-controllers and UNIX-like OSes and will likely be making occasional contributions. If I do I’d only test on my hardware so it might be best to remain very mainstream.

My preference is for “flight control stuff” to run on a STM32 and higher level planning in Linux. I prefer not to deal with real-time Linux kernels. I’ve done enough of that .

My interest in drones (other than FPV racing) is robotics, specially interaction with robots on the ground. A simple scenario is the drone camera finds a “target” and sends that to the wheeled platform that then drives there.

Cost is an issue but is secondary to function.

Is running Copter on the Omnibus F4 ready for prime time? I’d put that and a Raspberry Pi on the drone. Or given my goals is there a better option. The Omnibus F4 (running Betaflight) is already installed on that quad but I can swap it out if that makes sense.

Thanks a lot if you read down this far. Just looking for ideas…

http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-autopilots.html

That’s all very do-able with ardupilot and companion computers.
If you’re looking to some of the new small boards, the kakute f7 seems to be getting more development than the omnibus f4. They’ve got a very well working version of the kakute f7 in master, now. It has uarts to spare.
I am not sure you’d have enough ports to communicate w/ the companion computer w/ the omnibus f4. I’m not sure if it has any uarts to spare, after GPS and Telemetry radio.

Thanks, I looked it up - 6 hardware UARTS. The Kakute f7 will be on my
shopping list.

But now I’m thinking the MAVLink telemetry should go to the companion
computer. I was planning to use USB cable from a Raspberry Pi3 to the