My first LUA script

Hi,

I set myself a challenge try and and make a program in LUA, this is my first attempt!

My objective was to apply a BRIGHT flashing LED, 3W or bigger, as an orientation indicator, via a LED CC driver board!

The, available: Github.com/ArduPilot/ardupilot/blob/master/libraries/AP_Scripting/examples/relay_control.lua script, (thanks to who ever provided the example) with the Toggle only gave a 50:50 ratio. I wanted a variable, the script below gives 6:1 but can be varied as required.

After at least 12 Hours of hair pulling, and remember this is my first attempt I am publishing my first script. It seems so short for such effort.

Others may find better ways to do it, improve on it or point out possible options.

(It’s called F**K it WORKS slow.lua)

local RELAY_NUM = 2 – Relay number 3 in Mateksys H743

local relay_status = true

function led_action() –

if relay_status then

relay:off(RELAY_NUM)

relay_status = false

return led_action, 1200 – off time

else –

relay:on(RELAY_NUM)

relay_status = true

end

return led_action, 200 – on time

end

return led_action() – run immediately

end

return update() –

Appoligies if posted in the wrong place?

Your last two lines do nothing and are in error.

You have a bunch of unnecessary hyphens for comments that don’t exist.

This is functionally equivalent and does not rely on a global state variable:

local RELAY_NUM = 2

function on()
    relay:on(RELAY_NUM)
    return off, 200
end

function off()
    relay:off(RELAY_NUM)
    return on, 1200
end

return on()

And this should also work:

local RELAY_NUM = 2
local INTERVAL_MS = {
    [0] = 1200,
    [1] = 200
}

function toggle()
    relay:toggle(RELAY_NUM)
    return toggle, INTERVAL_MS[relay:get(RELAY_NUM)]
end

return toggle()

I have several videos on the subject that you may find useful:
Yuri’s Homebrew & DIY - YouTube

Thanks for the reply, I am always willing to learn. (And i had fun trying out my problem solving logic).