Mission Planner geotagging tool seems needlessly complicated

I’m new to ArduPilot but have a lot of prior experience collecting, georeferencing and mosaicking UAV aerial photos using other autopilot systems (chiefly MicroPilot).

I note that ArduPilot has a very handy dataflash logging option (“CAMERA”) that will record all the geotagging data you need each time the autopilot triggers the camera. Therefore in theory, automating the process of geotagging the photos should be a simple matter of reading the dataflash log, extracting the necessary numbers from each one of the “CAM” lines, and matching them up with the corresponding photos in the correct sequence.

That’s why I’m frankly puzzled when reading the instructions on geotagging images with Mission Planner (plane.ardupilot.com/wiki/common- … n-planner/) over the need to estimate time offsets and positional offsets, and I also can’t figure out why on earth you would use the telemetry log to geotag photos when using the dataflash log with the CAMERA option enabled would seem much more straightforward. With the latter approach, there should no need to even know the time that anything took place or worry about positional offsets; again, simple matter of matching the data from the “CAM” lines in the dataflash log with the corresponding sequence of photos.

Is there in fact a way to use the “Geo Ref Images” tool in this much more straightforward manner that isn’t covered in the online instructions? Any enlightenment would be very much appreciated. Thanks.

The reason MP is the way it is is because its the most universal support.

it supports
tlogs.
logs.
logs without camera messages.

and also allows moving the point around to best suit the job.

ie with the camera messages there could be a 1-2 sec delay because of the time the autofocus/shutter takes to trigger. using the current method you can bypass all of this, by providing just a seconds offset.

I see, fair enough. Thanks for the reply.