Maximum telemetry, short range

Hey everyone. I ended up with some happy model es900s. And I’m trying to use them. I’m flying a. Quad with elrs and im using mavlink to connect rc and telemetry wirelessly. I’m actually having LESS luck with wired. Anyway, My first test flight showed a slow enough position update that the flightpath looks hexagonal even though the program was a circle. It flew a circle. I only need 800 feet range so I’m wondering what i might do in settings to increase telemetry bandwidths as high as is reasonable. I’m new to ardupilot so not sure which settings make the differences. I think the baud rate is at 400k. Go up? Not sure about receiver wattage. I think its 100mw and thats it. Working on replacing it with a ranger for 1watt both ways. Certainly open to your suggestions!

Are you flying the copter with GCS?

What do you mean by “wired”?

ELRS with normal T antenna setup is adequte for 250m(800 feet) LOS communication.

Normal ELRS setup (Tx 50mW) will be OK for you requirement (250m line of sight range communication)

Yes I’m flying with gcs. But radio sometimes as well. The wired usb mavlink connection from radio to laptop is what i was talking about. Cant seem to get it working for more than a few seconds.

And yes i was aware that my setup is going to be ok for the low ranges. Its the telemetry I’m worried about. I do have a 100mw x2 diversity antenna coming along with a pair of rangers to bump up the wattage. I really only need the wattage for telemetry. There’s alot of data and i need to set the bauds as high as i can, but I’m not sure what that limit is in reality. I know I’ll probably never even get to 500mw but i just want to have the option.