MAVLink communication issues (TX2 + J120 Carrier)

Hi all, apologies if this doesn’t belong here but I’m not sure where else to put it since the source of the issue is eluding me. I’m new to this whole ecosystem so maybe I’m missing something stupid. Essentially, here’s what’s going on:

1. I have an OcPoc flight control unit (similar to Pixhawk) running Capter 3.5 and communicating with a RaspberryPi3 via MAVLink at various baudrates with no issues. I can connect from the RasPi to the FCU directly via serial (/dev/serial0) using mavproxy.py to see status as well as run MAVROS to stream data via ROS. All working well.

2. I also have an NVIDIA TX2 with a Auvidea J120 carrier board which I’ve set up the same way as the RasPi and connect to the FCU, however running mavproxy.py to connect directly via TX2 serial (/dev/ttyTHS1) at various baudrates always gives me output like:

Connect /dev/ttyTHS1 source_system=255
    Log Directory:
    Telemetry log: mav.tlog
    Waiting for heartbeat from /dev/ttyTHS1
    MAV> online system 1
    STABILIZE> Mode STABILIZE
    STABILIZE> status
    STABILIZE> Counters: Slave:0 MasterIn:[20] FGearOut:0 FGearIn:0 MasterOut:5
    MAV Errors: 17
    None
    17: BAD_DATA {Bad prefix, data:[‘9’]}
    3: HEARTBEAT {type : 2, autopilot : 3, base_mode : 81, custom_mode : 0, system_status : 3, mavlink_version : 3}
    status
    STABILIZE> Counters: Slave:0 MasterIn:[26] FGearOut:0 FGearIn:0 MasterOut:11
    MAV Errors: 17
    None
    17: BAD_DATA {Bad prefix, data:[‘9’]}
    9: HEARTBEAT {type : 2, autopilot : 3, base_mode : 81, custom_mode : 0, system_status : 3, mavlink_version : 3}

I tried using the TX2 dev kit carrier board and connecting via UART and this works fine, so it must be somehow related to the J120 carrier board…