LED Strips controlled by Arduino/Pi as status indicator from FC

Hi there,
I currently have an arduino controlling nav lights on my X8 drone. It’s a very big drone so it has about 80leds on each arm!
Currently the arduino is disconnected from the FC and is just showing red and green with a white strobe.
What is like is to connect it to the FC so that for example:

Armed is red and green with white strobe
Ready to arm is Purple
Error is flashing red
Fail safe is strobe red/white

These color don’t matter as I can figure that out later but what I’m stuck on is how to get the status of the craft from the FC? And how would I link a status with a led color.
I’m new to code but not new to ardu pilot and drones :grin:

Thanks

Write a Lua script, and unless they are bizarrely exotic LEDs, ditch the Arduino.

Use the LED:get_rgb() binding to display standard NTF colors.

Lua Scripts — Copter documentation (ardupilot.org)
External LEDs — Copter documentation (ardupilot.org)
NeoPixel — Copter documentation (ardupilot.org)
ardupilot/libraries/AP_Scripting/examples/LED_poslight.lua at master · ArduPilot/ardupilot (github.com)

Forgot to mention, the LEDS i’m using are RGBW which im fairly certain AP doesn’t support. also doesn’t AP have a led limit? something like 33? I have about 320 lol.

Exactly which LEDs? RGBW doesn’t tell us much.

If they aren’t supported, use a serial or I2C connection to communicate with your microcontroller from a similar Lua script as the ones I’ve linked.

There isn’t much of a limit other than the current limit, which is what I suspect you’re reading someplace. Don’t power your strips from the autopilot’s 5V regulator, and you avoid that.

WS2812B

Ah yea the wiring is grand, coming off a powercube.

Whats an I2C?

It’s a hardware communication protocol. Google is your friend there.