Large Octocopter X8 Configuration unable to maintain altitude

Hi,

I am a project student ad this is my first time trying out arducopter.
Currently, our octocopter is unable to maintain altitude even with full throttle and seems to be bouncing after awhile.

Can it be due to any configuration that i may have set up wrongly? Like PID etc…

The set up is as shown below:
Motor: T-Motor U3 700kv x 8
Propeller: 12 x4 CF
ESC: Turnigy Plush 30A
Battery: 10,000mah 4S1P 14.8V
Flight Controller: APM 2.7

Flight video:

Thanks in advance for all the help!

Hi Jonathan.

A few things may help.

How heavy is it all up weight ?

Can you download a log ? (although APM logs are pretty sparse for information it may help.If you can do a couple of test flights like that with different log options it may help more.Do a hover test like that with IMU enabled.Then disable that and do another test with RC_OUT enabled and IMU turned off.

The total AUW is 6.3kg
Sure i will do a flight test tmr and upload the log.
Thanks Jagger

It is too heavy for 12" props at 700kv. Are you using different props for the top and the bottom?
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?2952951-OCTA-QUAD-X8-Coaxial-Quad-Design-Notes-for-Arducopter

Both the top and bottom propeller are of the same size and pitch

Agreed.It looked like it was struggling a bit.I run a hexacopter @ 610 and 12 inch props around 3.6Kg.I run a bigger one with 18 inch props and 274Kv motors at about 7.8Kg.And that’s pushing it bravely.

What voltage does it run at ? Which motors ? I could ask questions all day. Perhaps a more detailed specification would help.But it does look heavy.And seriously good fun too I may add.

More volts may do it some favours but may produce smoke.

14.8V 4 cells lipo
T-Motor U3
I think the only way to for me to try out with a 13 x 4.4 propellers, it’s the maximum size and pitch that is recommended by the motor that i bought.