LAND mode sent my drone flying straight up

Hi, this was my first flight attempt after setting up my copter.

I took off on stabilize, I was able to hover around 1m from the ground. I then wanted to land the copter, so I proceeded to switch to LAND mode, but instead of going straight down, it flew straight up. I am using a rangefinder, but from what I could see in the logs, it is working correctly and was set up in the right orientation (downwards).

I’m pretty new to this, anyone can give me an insight as to what might be going on?

logs
parameters

Betacopter?

that is correct.
https://github.com/olliw42/BetaPilot

There is a few things going on.
Stability and oscillations, motor outputs frequently going to minimum.
That means when trying to maintain altitude the motor outputs can only effectively go up.
Also the Rangefinder. You can see when the barometer altitude is increasing rangefinder alt even goes down for a bit, then stays fairly steady at a low altitude.
So you will have to revisit the rangefinder, or disable it entirely until you’ve completed tuning.

Try changing these paramaters which might suit your small copter a bit better

ATC_ANG_PIT_P,8
ATC_ANG_RLL_P,8
ATC_RAT_PIT_D,0.002
ATC_RAT_PIT_I,0.080
ATC_RAT_PIT_P,0.080
ATC_RAT_RLL_D,0.002
ATC_RAT_RLL_I,0.080
ATC_RAT_RLL_P,0.080
INS_ACCEL_FILTER,10
INS_HNTCH_ENABLE,1  // set this then refresh params to see the rest
INS_HNTCH_MODE,3
INS_HNTCH_REF,1
INS_HNTCH_FREQ,120
INS_HNTCH_BW,60
INS_HNTCH_FM_RAT,1
INS_LOG_BAT_MASK,1
INS_LOG_BAT_OPT,4
MOT_PWM_TYPE,6
MOT_SPIN_ARM,0.09
MOT_SPIN_MIN,0.12

DHSHOT600 will be more than enough, and fits in better with loop rates and seems more reliable with some ESCs.
Now just hover in Stabilise and try AltHold, some gentle pitch and roll if possible.
Let’s see that log file.

EDIT
I saw the betacopter thing too and wondered what it is. It seems a fork of standard ardupilot, but is maybe not recent. Maybe olliw42 set it up for some testing??