Just a dumb question about the throttle stick

So here is my dumb question for the week.
I was looking at a new transmitter today and noticed that the throttle is self centering. Has anyone used that with Arducopter and if so what is your experience with it.

1 Like

As a copter newbie, i went for the self centering stick, even if you could disable the spring on my transmitter. Otherwise in Loiter/PosHold/AltHold flightmode I always ended up slowly climbing (or descending) because I couldn’t center the stick exactly and didn’t like to setup a large “dead zone” in the middle.

Not for long but if you want to try it there is a parameters for that. PILOT_THR_BHV

Thanks @dkemxr Dave.
I had not looked at that parameter as I never have run a sprung throttle before.
But I guess I am going to get a chance.
So reading this I get the impression that if I pull the throttle low the machine goes into “Land” just like a DJI machine. If this is the case, then that DJI sort of behaviour can be replicated in Arducopter. I know I shouldn’t say that out loud but for the one machine I am looking at. That behaviour is perfect.

What make and model of TX? You can usually pop the radio open, and look for a stop screw along the throttle axis. Remove the spring, and adjust the smooth spring tension. I prefer nice and tight springs, to assist combining undesired stick movements.

Its a new transmitter from SIYI. It’s not made is primetime debut yet so I don’t know if you could just pull a spring. My concern was whether I could use the transmitter with Arducopter if I couldn’t pull a spring and mode the stick. Sounds like I can.

Kind of but I would just think of it below mid throttle hover and it will descend in assisted modes. In Stabilize it’s just a PITA. The Tx that came with the SkyViper, and other toys, has a center spring. I used it a couple times and then bound to my regular Transmitter.