Is this model too small for ArduPlane?

I’ve been flying fixed-wing for almost 40 years, and helis and multicopters for about 10. Over the past 2 years or so I’ve converted my helis and a hexacopter to Aurducopter, and am now considering doing the same with ArduPlane on one of my fixed-wing models.

The plane I’m considering is the Eclipson Model B which I’ve already flown a couple of times. My question is, is this model too small to be upgrading in this manner, with full GPS capabilities?

it should be fine, something like a 405 mini wing controller would be ideal for it.

along with a mini M10 GPS
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005006070014889.html

Thanks geofrancis. I plan to use a Matek F405 which I’ve already got – there’s enough room in the fuselage for it. I was just curious whether its small size (by my standards – all my other models are about 6ft wingspan) would be a disadvantage.

There is nothing fundamentally different about it, it will need some tuning as it will probably be quite sluggish on stock settings as they will be set for turning rates of a larger aircraft.

Sluggish sounds good to me :laughing: Thanks again geofrancis.

if you’re used to traditional RC planes here’s a couple of tips:

• Be ready with manual mode because you might not like flying in FBWA right away if you aren’t used to it. It doesn’t bug me at all, but some of my fixedwing RC friends get really freaked out at first. They feel the plane is “fighting” them.
  • Turn off the RC trims on your radio. Set SERVO_AUTO_TRIM,1 and let it do the work. If you check the trims after and see the SERVOx_TRIM is way out, you might want mechanically adjust it, but if you’ve flown the plane RC already then it’s probably fine.
  • First use SERVOx_REVERSED to get the servos going the right way for the stabilized flight mode (FBWA, etc), then use the radio or RCx_REVERSED to get the manual controls working in the right direction. Don’t worry if you need to reverse both, that happens.