HERE+RTK on Rover 3m Boat

From this test done yesterday, I can assure you, just normal GPS is WAAAAAAAY more accurate -

Dear John,
I am new to this.

Do you mean that you get worse accuracy with the Here+RTK than with standard GPS?

Can you explain the screenshots? Which of the projects are using the Here+RTK, which are using normal GPS?

Sincerely,
Wiktor

All of the above are using RTK, I will return later in the week and do the same flight plan with GPS only.

100% Matt,
This below is just GPS

1 Like

Hello John

Seems to me that you have some deviation at the beginning of the run? We are running a similar project with 4 meter long boat driven by two brushed electric motors. We have tested the autopilot system, however, we are experiencing difficulties when trying to reach a waypoint. It seems to be stuck in one direction only (180 degrees away from the waypoint). If we force it (by hand) in the correct direction (turning it 180 degrees) it continous on the correct path. Do you know what does this? Is there a latency in the system?

Hi Thomas,

Sorry but I only have experience with single outboard drive motor.

Hello again,

what parameters do you need to fiddle with to make the boat follow the directon so nicely as you have achieved? We are reaching each waypoint, but the boat does a big curve from one to another. It is not following the line that it should. Any ideas what could be fixed?

Thomas, this is very tricky as I have two identical craft and yet the settings are completely different.

Here is an example of one of my craft:-
Steering Rate

P - 1.0

I - 0.2

D - 0

IMAX - 1.0

FF - 1.0

Speed 2 Throttle:

P - 0.2

I - 0.2

D - 0.0

IMAX - 1.0

ACCEL - 2.0

Navigation:

WP Speed - 3.5

WP Radius - 7

WP Overshoot - 10 - (003 seems to be set on 0 - just check this)

Turn G - 0.4

Period - 6

Damp - 6

Throttle:

Cruise Speed - 3.0

Cruise Throttle - 30%

Min % - 0

Max % - 60

Turn Radius:

15m