Help - Undesired pitch when full throttle

Hello, First copter build. I have been a fixed wing pilot with arduplane for many years but the tuning of copter is challenging me. I have installed a SpeedyBee F405 mini and Matek M8Q-5883 GPS/Compass into my Flywoo Explorer LR 4" quad. I have done successful autotune and POSHOLD works great and locks in.

I have noticed some erratic pitch movements when I punch out when in STAB mode. Also, in ACRO, the quad tends to get a little uneasy. I’m unsure if I have vibration issues or if I need to tweak the notch filter. I am looking at the data but I don’t see anything glaringly obvious. Then again, I am not used to tuning for vibration, filtering and PIDS. Can someone take a look at my log and give me advice? It would be greatly appreciated.

Here are my PIDs as well.

It looks like the lack of control happens mostly when the throttle is reduced after a big climb, and of course motor outputs go low, with one or more motors hitting their minimum. At least it’s not oscillations.

Try adjusting these to help that situation.

ATC_THR_MIX_MAN,0.5
MOT_SPIN_MIN,0.20

See if you can get the MOT_SPIN_ARM and MOT_SPIN_MIN a bit lower but still be reliable.

You have extremely low vibrations and noise, so the harmonic notch filter is not doing anything for two reasons:

1. not needed
  2. slightly misconfigured

So just disable it anyway.
INS_HNTCH_ENABLE,0
You wont see me recommend that change often! :slight_smile:

Compass is definitely quite affected by throttle

Luckily you had plenty of yaw in that log so I ran it through Magfit.

Set these updated compass parameters and that should take care of a some of the odd behaviour you see

COMPASS_DIA_X,0.919
COMPASS_DIA_Y,1.080
COMPASS_DIA_Z,0.902
COMPASS_MOTCT,2
COMPASS_MOT_X,3.396
COMPASS_MOT_Y,1.045
COMPASS_MOT_Z,-5.312
COMPASS_ODI_X,0.009
COMPASS_ODI_Y,-0.200
COMPASS_ODI_Z,-0.002
COMPASS_OFS_X,-731
COMPASS_OFS_Y,208
COMPASS_OFS_Z,284
COMPASS_SCALE,1.00
1 Like