Frame class selection not working as expected

We are trying to get coaxcopter settings to work on our drone, but only the helicopter frame class works. Is there anything that we might be doing incorrectly? Video link is below.

What type of coax copter? Forget the video, post the parameter file. Looks like you don’t have Octoquad/X8 configured. Assuming that’s the frame class (4) you have.

I think you’ve loaded “-heli” firmware where it is likely unnecessary. Use the base firmware or the one labeled “-bdshot” if you have BlHeli ESCs.

Would be monumentally helpful if you were more specific with your question, exact physical configuration, and included a log and/or parameter file.

Hi, so I am also having a similar issue. I am very new to ardupilot and I am trying to get a CoaxRotor to work. I might’ve installed the heli option when initially installing my firmware, but to my understanding that should work as it is still the same copter version 4.4.3. Whenever I change the parameter frame_class to 9, as specified in the CoaxRotor page, I no longer get any output to in my servos, even though motor 5 and 6 as stated on the documentation. for my physical configuration I am using something very similar to what is presented in this diagram to the documentation.

Any help would be appreciated!
I have also attached my parameters
param_list.param (18.4 KB)

Hi, how would I go about installing the base firmware by itself? as I said I am very new and I only see these options in my mission planner software. For more details about my specific situation please see my other comment in this post. Please let me know if anything else would be useful.

You click on the one that looks like a quadcopter, not the one that looks like a helicopter. The “-heli” firmware differs quite a bit and isn’t likely what you want to install based on your sparse details.

1 Like

Indeed that parameter file reflects a Traditional Heli flash. As @Yuri_Rage said it’s not what you want.

1 Like