Flying TARDIS using ArduCopter SingleCopter

Hi Everyone - I’m very new at the ArduPilot forums and blogs, so if I’m doing it wrong… go easy on me.

A couple of years ago I had the interest of building a flying TARDIS much like Otto Dieffenbach. In my research I found that he used a KK2 board and there have been loads of advancements in flight controllers since then. Originally I was looking for a quadcopter setup that could, in addition to the motor, control thrust vectoring control surfaces. I was unable to understand how to do that… but I found the next best thing, SingleCopter.

With the new found firmware I went back to work. I built two test rigs, one using a PixRacer and another with a Matek F405 Wing flight controller (pictured below)

With the test rigs, I was able to change settings in MissionPlanner and seeing the effects of those changes. I ran into several challenges when setting up the firmware. Thanks to help from others in the forums, I was able to resolve the challenges:
Single Copter with Gasoline engine settings
SingleCopter Throttle - Motor Won’t Run - Solved

After getting to a point where it appeared all functions of the SingleCopter were working as designed, it was time to build a prototype.

Here is a look at the thrust vector control surfaces.

Here is a photo of the Matek F405 Wing flight controller and servos mounted in the square tube.

The square tube was about 10" on each side.

Parts List
2 sheets of Ross foam board
4 13g metal gear digital servos
Motor: NTM 28-26 1200 kv motor
Propeller: APC 9x4.5
Battery: 1300 mAh 3S
ESC: HobbyKing 20A
Flight Controller: Matek F405 Wing
Firmware: ArduCopter, SingleCopter

3 Likes

Thanks for the post. This is really great to see especially because we don’t have a lot of SingleCopter users so it’s great to see some success.

P.S. I’ve moved the video to the top so that it’s more visible when viewing the blog post from ardupilot.org