ESP32 boot locks after the compass message

I’m testing ArduCopter on ESP32 WROOM32 and this is where it always locks (forever I think). I’ve built esp32-empty target. How can I see what is going wrong? The board had no other hardware connected and the log is the same on UART0 (GPIO1 and GPIO3).

Init ArduCopter V4.5.0-dev (ae5d04b6)

Free RAM: 110592
Firmware change: erasing EEPROM...
done.
load_all took 2398854us
No Compass backends available

I was told that it could be because there is no IMU attached. So I’ll be testing it later.

If you don’t have a min set of peripheral hardware, there’s no sense trying to build for ESP32. This would include an IMU, barometer, and compass at a bare minimum.

My understanding was that with the “clean” version you can add them later. But to add them later the system have to boot? I’m probably missing something. I’m new with ardupilot, sorry.

How do you expect an autopilot to function without knowing its orientation?

It’s my opinion, also, that ArduPilot on an ESP32 is mostly just a curiosity, and otherwise a waste of time. By the time you cobble together a crude rig that kind of works, you could’ve spent the same $40-$60 on a flight controller that is actually functional and supported.

And if you argue that you could design a custom circuit board for the purpose, I’d argue right back that you should design that board for an STM32.

Well I got it working with the sitl-in-hw.
ESP32 is fast, have 4MB flash, dual-core, have a lot of RAM, have on board WiFi and Bluetooth and is cheap. STM32 … not so much when you need a lot of flash. PX4 needs like 2MB (for some reason) and it’s only available on the more expensive F4s and F7s as far as I saw.
Why would you even use STM32 if you have the ESP32?
And yes I use both (and ESP8266 too) for various project.

Depends on which STM32 you’re referring to. Some rival the ESP32 quite handily.