Dynamic gyro notch filter based on esc rpm telemetry

Been trying to get my 250mm quad to fly good in acro, the problem is I have lots of experience with BF, so the bar is pretty high. I did not build this quad in hopes it would outperform BF acro, but it should fly somewhat better than it is now, the response is just slow comparatively (I have removed many delays and tried many things and its better, but not even close), also my roll rates are about half of what I would like (1000dps is max on AC i think).

Another large step forward for BF this week, BF/Skaug just came up with a dynamic notch based on esc rpm telemetry, the few that have flown it says its magic. Here is some words from the dev: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showā€¦postcount=5567

Joe came up with the yaw drift fix code that works brilliantly too.

It seems quite far behind as AC is just getting to esc passthrough mode and dshot. Qudos for the autonomous modes of AC!

2 Likes

To be fair I donā€™t think the AP devs have ever been focused on acro, as most of the user base never uses it in their mostly stabilized/autonomous builds. That said the possibilities of implementing filtering based on ESC telemetry is super cool!

Iā€™m pretty pleased with my 250mm quad (QAV250) in acro, but have only tuned for 3s. My settings look like this (on AC 3.5.5):

One of the things that made the biggest difference was the ATC_ACCEL params:

Not flown my 180mm/4s quad in acro yet, but itā€™s pretty responsive. Iā€™m not a great pilot so your bar may be considerably higher than mine :slight_smile:

Andy,
How did you come up w/ that tune? Specifically why did you lower the I term? Iā€™ve been playing w/ manual tuning lately, and on my little 120mm copter Iā€™ve been finding higher I term (higher than P) is giving me more betaflght like performanceā€¦ Butā€¦ Iā€™m still learning (5 years of tuning sub 250mm size copters and still donā€™t quite have itā€¦hehā€¦)