CUAV Nano to 4-in-1 ESC

Hello, I am relatively new to autopilots and wanted to get some insight on my setup (I assembled and am in the testing stages now) to make sure its possible. Here is my GitHub repo link for reference, hope you like it!

Components:

• CUAV V5 Nano (ArduCopter V4.4.4) using Mission Planner GCS
  • BLS 50A 4-in-1 ESC (BLHeli_S)
  • Raspberry Pi 4B (DroneKit & MAVLink)

I understand the connection between the Pi and CUAV is just UART. For the connection between the ESC and the CUAV I am confused how to wire it similar to this pixhawk-4-in-1-esc forum post. Here is the relevant information for my setup:
ESC:

CAUV V5 Nano

My Build:

My understanding is that I need to connect S1 to M1, …, S4 to M4. Regarding the other pins (TELEM, CURR, VBAT, GND), how does MissionPlanner allow me to run ESC calibration through ArduCopter running on the CUAV? Alternatively, I bought the ESC as a stack with the F405V3 FC that I can connect together and calibrate it with BetaFlight Configurator. This isn’t ideal since I have 2 FCs when I only need the CUAV, but it is possible.

Thank you in advance and I can’t wait to move past this road block :slight_smile:

First up you wont need to run ESC calibration. Use DSHOT600, it’s easy and way better than ordinary old PWM.

The real roadblock here is powering your flight controller - you need a BEC capable of 5.2v 3amps, or the power brick that came with it.
If you use a small separate BEC, the ESC can still provide the battery voltage and current data via it’s Curr wire and the Telem data. The alternative is to ignore the Curr wire and remove it from the connector housing

You are correct about the S1 → M1 relationship, connecting to the S pins
However on the CUAV V5 Nano I have here the M1 has never worked for DSHOT, so be prepared to bump all your connectors along one position. You might end up using M2 to M5, it’s no big deal and easy to adjust.
The GND wire should also connect to a - pin on the servo output pins.