Conceptual question about tuning

Hello,
I am studying the documentation and some posts about crashes because of poor tuning to be better at diagnosing problems and I have come up with a doubt: What happens with the pid, specifically the integral term, when you change from a more automatic mode like auto or guided to a more manual mode, like Loiter, PosHold, AltHold, Stabilize?

Nothing hapends. There are 13 PIDs
3 for attitude rates (r,p,y)
3 for attitude (r,p,y)
3 for position velocity (r,p,y)
3 for position (r,p,y)
1 for altitude

On some modes the position controllers are dis-activated, but in all modes the attitude ones are running, there is no discontinuity on the I term when switching modes.

I posted some diagrams a while ago about all the loops. Have you seen that already?Ü

2 Likes

I will check these diagrams. Also, if it’s not a bother, could you please help me with a few things?
1-Could you direct me towards the part of the firmware code that has the PIDs?
2-Is there some log analysis post or video, other than the documentation, that shows how to use different log parameters to diagnose problems? So far, after studying a few posts here, I know how to check motor physical bias or motor failure with rcout, gps glitches by checking hdop and gps alt versus another alt, checking the desired versus achieved rates/angles of roll, pitch and yaw to see if the tuning is bad or good, check the vibrations with Vibe to see if they are close to the ideal 5 cm/s^2 but I feel there is more to learn.
3-What about a scenario where the copter from auto mode to poshold or similar and the drone crashes? While there isn’t a bin file that I can share, if there is no discontinuity on the I term when switching modes, what would be a good guess for the problem? My guesses would be bad radio trimmimg and deadzones or no accounting for a controller with feedback at the middle or bad tuning.

1. serch for attitude_controll and PIDs on the libraries folder