Compass unhealthy, Help needed for a rookie!

Dear all,
After eventually getting my APM 2.5 set up, I had a lot of problems to get passed the pre arm checks due the the compass health check failing.
eventually after many attempts of calibrations it passed and I was airborne.

I am a beginner so go easy on me :slight_smile:

Now after 3 or 4 flights and a few low impact crashes, The drone would not rearm.
Im getting compass not healthy.

Trouble shooting so far:
compass calibrated a few times…My message then changes from compass not healthy to check mag field and evenly returns to compass not healthy.

Calibrating location changed a few times…no difference.

Changed data cables.

Changed computers( Im using mac)

I have been into the parameters and disabled the compass however this doesn’t seem to the disable the pre arm compass check?

This configuration has an external GPS antenna with a built in compass.

I read on this site about cutting the trace, however if I was able to Arm and fly a few times already, could this really be my issue?

Perhaps there is a real problem with the compass?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Sorry… Typo.
My board is an APM 2.8 not 2.5.

If one was to replace this FC what would you replace it with? It seems that this issue with the compass is inherent in every version of the the APM FC?

There must be a better solution?

Hi, APM 2.8 has an internal compass , that can be disabled by removing a jumper . Remove it ,select external compass , and do a calibration.

Hi,
Thanks very much for your reply.
Could you show me the jumper that needs to be removed?
I have also been been looking at the options for selecting the external compass…

It would appear that the Mac platform for mission planner is a lot different from the Windows options?

Beat regards,

Darren.