Compass set up with Ardupilot is a Fiasco

Ok, the title of my post was designed to be provocative! It does not reflect my feelings about Ardupilot though. I have been using Ardupilot for years but only recently had the enormously frustrating experience of being reduced to total newbie befuddlement when needing to set up copter and compass with non standard alignment.

Between Mission Planner and Ardupilot firmware, the entire compass set up has the potential to drive you crazy. I so often come across postings where really experienced people just cannot get their compass set-up. This all seemed to really flare up when EKF was made mandatory. Now I get that EKF brings huge gains in flight stability and the work done to integrate this into Ardupilot is impressive, But the people leading Ardupilot should address the downsides of this. With EKF between you and a compass reading, if more than 2 variables are off you really are screwed and all you will see is red EKF compass errors. Two variables in my case were a buzzer too close to my internal mag and poor wiki section on explaining how FC and Compass orientation interact (so my compass orientation parameter was off).

I think we have come to an interesting place when a Storm32 gimbal can be set up and calibrated more easily then a Pixhawk. Why are we having to set IMU and Compass orientation manually anyway? If I am moving my vehicle nose up, nose down, left, and right, and on its back how hard would it be to to get the FC to know how to set that AHRS parameter?

And like wise, in the age of smartphone apps with compasses, why can we not have to option to point our vehicles north, south, east, and west and thus determine compass orientation?